Google Ads Conversion Rate

Conversion Rate is the percentage of users who take a desired action on your website or landing page after clicking on your ad. It is used to measure the effectiveness of your Adwords campaigns.

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  • About
  • Tech details

What Is a Conversion Rate

The conversion rate measures the percentage of visitors who complete a desired action on your website or landing page.

This action could be anything from making a purchase, filling out a contact form, subscribing to a newsletter, downloading a whitepaper, or any other predefined goal that signifies a successful conversion.

How to Calculate Conversion Rate

To calculate your conversion rate, you first need to determine which actions will actually qualify as conversions. This can be a purchase, sign-up, or something else.

Once you have that information and set a specific time frame for your calculation, you can follow this formula:

Conversion Rate = (Number of Conversions / Total Number of Visitors) * 100

Say you have an online store, and in the last week, you had 5,000 visitors to your website. Out of those, 200 visitors made a purchase.

Let’s use the formula:

Conversion Rate = (200 / 5000) * 100 = 4%

In this example, the conversion rate is 4%. It means that 4% of the visitors completed the desired action, which, in this case, was making a purchase.

What Is a Good Conversion Rate

There’s no universally good conversion rate that can apply to any business. You need to consider factors such as industry, specific business model, and the actual conversion goal that’s being measured.

Other factors include the type of product or service offered, the target audience, and the quality of your marketing strategies.

For example, conversion rates for SaaS companies can vary widely, but a good benchmark might be around 3% to 8%.

Financial service websites, including insurance and banking, might see conversion rates from 2% to 7%.

Conversion rates for educational institutions and e-learning platforms may fall in the range of 3% to 10%.

These are some general figures across different industries, but we also prepared a few useful benchmarks across different platforms that you might find useful. We pulled them directly from our Benchmark Groups product:

How to Improve Conversion Rate

Whether you’re an ecommerce store, a B2B service provider, or a content-based website, boosting your conversion rate is probably one of your key objectives.

But depending on which specific action you want to increase conversions on, you’ll need to test and refine a lot of different approaches.

That said, we compiled a few interesting strategies to help you improve your conversion rate, shared by some of the industry experts we talked to over the years:

  • Make your intentions clear in the opt-in: It’s only natural for marketers to assume that someone who opted-in on a page and provided their email is okay with being marketed to with future emails. But that’s not always a given for people outside of the industry. Instead of putting that in fine print that’s easily missed, make your intentions clear that you want to send them emails in the future and that they’re okay with that. Disinterested users who unsubscribe immediately after receiving a few of your emails not only hurt your conversion rate, but also your deliverability.
  • Create a great pre-click experience: While prominent CTAs and persuasive copy play a huge role in conversions, so does a great pre-click experience. If you manage to get the prospects warmed up with a great advertorial or an ad leading to the landing page, you can easily boost your landing page conversion rates by at least a few percent.
  • Use retargeting to resolve any common uncertainties: Not many businesses use retargeting to address potential customer uncertainties. But if you refine your advertisement and add new copy that resolves the potential uncertainties that are keeping those users from buying, you can get a much bigger boost in conversion rates than by changing the angle or just running the same ad again.
  • Inform the prospects that you’re moving on: If you run email campaigns to send customers further down the funnel, a good idea to increase conversions is to inform them that you’re moving on soon. Instead of just assuming that they’re not interested in hearing about that same offer again and cutting it altogether, it’s much better to tell them that you’re not going to send it anymore and that this is the last chance to get in.

More resources to help you improve:

Visualizations

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    Number

    Used to show a simple Metric or to draw attention to one key number.

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    Pie Chart

    Used to illustrate numerical proportions through the size of the slices.

  • Databox visualization

    Bar and Line Chart

    Used to show comparisons between values.

How to track Conversion Rate in Databox?

Databox is a business analytics software that allows you to track and visualize your most important metrics from any data source in one centralized platform.

To track Conversion Rate using Databox, follow these steps:

  1. 1
    Connect Google Ads that contains the metric you want to track
  2. 2
    Select the metric you want to track from the list of available metrics
  3. 3
    Drag and drop the selected metric onto your dashboard
  4. 4
    Watch your dashboard populate in seconds
  5. 5
    Put Conversion Rate on the Performance screen
  6. 6
    Get Conversion Rate performance daily with Scorecards or as a weekly digest
  7. 7
    Set Goals to track and improve performance of Conversion Rate
Google Ads integration with Databox Track Conversion Rate from Google Ads in Databox GET STARTED

Google Ads Conversion Rate included in Dashboard Templates 2

  • Live view

    Google Ads PPC Performance

    The AdWords PPC dashboard template gives a complete view of all the fundamental ad metrics, including cost-per-click, click-through rate and impressions.

    Google Ads
  • Live view

    Video Marketing for Awareness & Conversions

    Use this free dashboard template to track how awareness video is leading to branded and high-intent searches, track your Facebook ads and Google Ads performance and return on your ad spend.

    Google Universal Analytics Facebook Ads Google Ads Facebook Pages

Google Ads Conversion Rate included in Report Templates 1

  • Details

    Google Ads Advanced Report Template

    Use this Google Ads advanced report to share high-level and in-depth metrics of your Google Ads performance. Present key insights like CPC, Conversion Rate, Keyword Drilldown, and more.

    Google Ads

Basics

  • Description
    Conversion Rate is the percentage of users who take a desired action on your website or landing page after clicking on your ad. It is used to measure the effectiveness of your Adwords campaigns.
  • Category
    Advertising
  • Subcategory
    Conversions
  • Date Added
    2016-06-03
  • Default Format
    Percentage
  • Cumulative Support
    No
  • Units
    No
  • Granularities
    hourly, daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly, yearly
  • Favorable Trend
    increasing
  • Changing historical data
    No
  • Forecast Support
    Yes
  • Benchmark Support
    Yes
  • Media Support
    No
  • Dimension
    N/A
  • Metric Type
    general Learn more
  • API Endpoint
    https://googleads.googleapis.com/v15/customers/{customer-id}/googleAds:search

Questions? We've got answers.

  • What is a bad conversion rate?

    A bad conversion rate is typically one that falls significantly below the industry average or it’s much lower than what similar-sized competitors in the same industry are seeing.

    It’s important to note that what qualifies as a “bad” conversion rate can vary depending on the industry, business objectives, specific action, the offer itself, and other factors.  

    As a general rule of thumb, rates well below 1% rates may be considered poor.

  • Does conversion rate really matter?

    Yes, conversion rate matters significantly for any online business.

    It directly reflects the effectiveness of your marketing strategies and the overall performance of your website or landing pages. 

     

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